belly dance?

Body: 

Would anyone like to comment on whether belly dance is beneficial to women's pelvic continence and strength? I've been tempted to try a little class near me. It seems so feminine, sensual.

queenbee

Queenbee,

I quote from Christine's book (1st ed. p. 131):

"Belly rolls, an integral part of Middle Eastern dance, are exquisite pelvic floor exercises to perform while having intercourse. Men love them, they feel extraordinarily good to do, and are invaluable for strengthening the entire pelvic area."

There is then a brief description of how to do belly rolls.

Jean

I AM a bellydancer. I've been dancing for 14 years. I have been recently diagnosed with a rectocele and a cystocele. I am trying to slowly go through all my bellydance moves to see how they affect my 'celes'. I have changed my posture during dancing so far to be the wholewoman posture. Much like ballet, I have always been instructed to tuck my tailbone under during bellydancing, so I have been focusing on doing all my bellydancing with the "new" posture. So far I feel alright...but I am still getting used to "living well" with prolapse, and I am nervous about incorporating any repetitive dance or exercise that might make the condition worse.

For me personally, I just can't imagine no longer bellydancing and I am desperate to find a way to keep my prolapse under control without having to give up bellydancing.

Does anyone out there have any experience with bellydance or specific bellydance moves that are GOOD or specifically BAD for prolapse?

Denny

Hi Denny,

I think you can continue to belly dance with no problem. The principles we are working with here are definitely gaining validity and from my perspective, the more you can incorporate them into your dance the stronger, more stable, flexible and graceful your style will become. Belly dancing encourages a naturally held belly, which is a key piece of the whole woman posture.