Bikram Yoga, Question for Judy

Body: 

Judy,

I've read your posts that you're finding Bikram yoga helpful. I did Bikram yoga from 1994 to 2001, then switched to Iyengar. I'm a yoga teacher, specializing in restoratives and have found the restorative forms to be very helpful. I haven't been doing nearly the amount of active yoga as I used to because I know that some poses can be detrimental. I wanted to ask you, do you wear a pessary when you do the Bikram series? Do you do the whole series? Each pose repeated twice? Do you ever find that any of the poses make the celes feel worse? What degree are your celes?

Thank you,

Ann

Ann,

No pessary; I'm claustrophobic with anything that touches me, so I just couldn't. I'm hyperactive, and ... put it together.

I do the whole Bikram series repeated twice if I practice in the morning which I do on weekends. Otherwise with a ten hour day behind me, I do the twice series but sometimes skip tree, which I find hard on the bladder and camel which I also find hard. I do most of locust. The room is about 101 degrees.

During menopause, my tendons let go and I have some permanent damage in my legs, so standing head to knee is still tough. Separate leg stretch is the best exercise for the bladder.

What I add to the practice is a long kagel that I also begin before getting into every pose. If I pull up, I can feel the energy and pull to my face. This took some practice. I had to learn to pull those muscles all the way to my nose. This way I can control the descending celes from the beginning while in the pose. It's tough, but the whole pelvic wall has strengthened for me.

The problem I think most people would have is the poses are difficult in the first place, as you know, and most women would push down in order to be able to do them. By conscientiously pulling up instead and engaging the abdominal muscles, it works.