yoga for prolapse

Body: 

I just wanted to post information for those of you who are trying out yoga to assist in your overall health or are trying to address a prolapse issue. Many of Christine's exercises are yoga poses. These ARE very good to do if done correctly. I just wanted to air a brief warning before some of you head of to do "yoga". There are many different kinds of yoga, and as an instructor, I feel that some of these could be potentially damaging for students with prolapse. I recommend avoiding poses that involve deep twists or any pose that would cause vulsalva (pushing down, or contracting the pelvic floor) unless you have experience strengthening and using your pelvic floor correctly. Iyengar yoga is one of the wisest and most comprehensive types of yoga I've encountered. It uses props to assist students who may need to work up to the eventual pose. Please take the time to search for an Iyengar studio in your area before heading to just any random class. I have seen MANY injuries from people who attend power(type)yoga classes. Poses that ARE benificial are inversions- but these need to be taught correctly. Yoga is a path- or a way of living consciously, and is echoed throughout Christin's book. Thank you, Cristina, for writing it!

Thank you for your comments, g. We have been wrestling with the yoga issue since the earliest days of wholewoman and have had lengthy, and sometimes heated, conversations with yoga teachers (the most memorable of whom have developed prolapse after years of practice.)

I am planning a longer post about the issues and hope you will look for it soon on my blog.

:-) Christine

Christine,

I practiced yoga yesterday and spoke with my instructor about your site and your work and the fact that there are so many women out here who probably have prolapses who would benefit from a Whole Woman approach.