Yoga

Body: 

This is in response to Christine's excellent review of Yoga poses & modifications. Thank you! I am a Yoga teacher who works with women - prenatal and menopausal- the full range. I really found your suggestions valuable. A Yoga teacher to check out - who gets that the female body is different from the male body on whom asanas were originally developed - is Angela Farmer. Also, Don Stapleton at Kripalu and Nosara is good, not so much specifically about the female body, but his approach is organic and understanding that each body is unique. More women in Yoga are starting to understand about recreating the poses in a feminine way. Also, the real truth to any asana practice, is to work with breath, and to not go where there is pain or in the case of prolapse, discomfort - use intuition, and listen to your body, not a didactic teacher!

Ananda,

Some of us practice yoga. I do, and am constantly changing positions to make them more comfortable and more feminine. Because I'm old, my young teachers don't dare say anything,and I probably wouldn't listen much if they did - been doing this a long time. I try to stand in the back so I won't be a distraction.

I'd be very interested in how you've modified certain poses.

Judy