should I be doing kegels with butt on pillow?

Body: 

I tried to post some thing yesterday but I really don't knowwhat I'm doing. This is my first time at this sort of thing. I put info.on site. Have bladder prolapse and P.T. has me with butt on pillow.Is this an ok way. I also have vaginal trigger point therapy twici now. If I get an answer to this maybe I will venture more on this machine. thanks for all info I have found so far.I never did any typing and I have to go to library to use computer. I'm 65 never pg . Pat

Hi Pat,

You did just fine posting - thanks for writing in. I would say go along with your PT as there may be some value there for you and it sounds like you're already signed up.

In addition you might try this:

Sit on a firm-seat chair (or on the floor cross-legged if you are that limber). Don't sit back against the chair back, but rather sit up straight. Relax your lower belly and sense the lumbar curve at the small of your back. Keep your shoulders down, your upper back flat and broad and your head pulled up at the crown (tuck your chin just slightly). Breathe in through your nose and as you do so allow your lower belly to come forward over the tops of your thighs - keeping spine in this posture. Hold your breath as you contract your pelvic "floor" muscles. You will feel a lot of sensation around your urethra and bladder as these organs move toward their natural positions. Relax and repeat.

This is how kegels ought to be done instead of lying on your back with a pillow under your butt - hopefully PT will get on board one of these days.

:) Christine

I saw your post yesterday and wanted to respond. One way I like to do kegels is while having sex. I also do them sometimes when I am doing an exercise called seperated leg stretch- basically you stand with feet very wide, bend forward from the hips, put hands on the floor, relax the belly and then contract the pelvic floor.