Grandma again!

Body: 

Hi Everyone,

I am delighted to announce that I am going to be a grandma again!!!! Our daughter, who will turn 35 this week, is pregnant with her first after trying for 2 1/2 years. Since our grandsons (our ds children) are now 7 & 10, this is like starting all over again. We are very excited! G-mom, I am not breaking the secret. She just couln't keep the news to herself so I am finally free to shout the good news. Thank goodness, because I am not good at keeping this kind of secret!

However, I now have a new topic to explore. Pregnancy and prolapse. I have a few quick questions that maybe some of you can help with.

I am wondering if being pregnant at 35, almost 36 when she delivers, puts her at greater risk for prolapse. My prolapse didn't happen until I was 57, but I had my babies in my early 20's. I worry because I am reading about so many young mom's (younger than she will be when she becomes a mom) that have prolapse. Seems like it's happening younger and younger. One has to wonder why, or does it just seem that way?

I wonder too if she'll has a propensity toward having a prolapse since I have one. (Stage 3 bladder prolapse).

She's in good health, fit and very active. She has always had a problem with irregular periods, which is why I think it was difficult for her to get pregnant. She had some procedure done a couple of months ago, called an HSG, where they shoot blue dye into your fallopian tubes to check for blockage which, according to her doctor, often gets rid of any blockage. She thinks that did the trick. She said it was extremely painful, but she's glad she did it if that's what it took.

So, any info and/or advice that I can pass along would be greatly appreciated. Mom here is worried. I guess one never stops worrying about one's kids and grandkids!

With warm regards and a great big smile,

Grandma Mae

congrats to you and your family : )