Newbi looking for help / advice

Body: 

Hi there. I am new to this, but am hoping someone will be able to help me.

I have had two children. The first was born by emergency section four years ago. He weighed 10 lb 6 oz. I was deeply traumatised by my section and planned (and achieved) a HBAC. My second son was born at home weighin 9lb 9.5 oz. I had an 8 hour labour, a 1 hr45 minute second stage. He was born with teh cord around his neck and was born through the cord. I had a very long cord, though so I don't think this caused my second stage to be any longer than it would have been if it hadn't been around his neck. I had a physiological third stage so my placenta was born with no drugs or traction.

Upon checking immediately after the birth of my son my cervix was visible outside my vagina dn teh midwife pushed it back in. They seemed very unconcerned by this and I was told to make sure I did my pelvic floor exercises. When I first stood up after the birth (about 4 hours afterwards) my bladder immediately emptied where I was stood and I was totally unable to stop it. I put this down to having just given birth. Over the next few days / weeks my bladder control improved but I still suffer stress incontinence and some general incontinence. I use a pad designed for urine to help with this and this is sufficient to deal with the incontinence, but obviously I woudl prefer to be continent! It is now 6 1/2 months since the birth.

I have asked to be checked twice since the birth - once three weeks after and once 8 weeks after as I have had some discomfort. Both times I was told it was too soon after the birth to expect things to feel anywhere close to normal and to go away and carry on with the pelvic floor exercises.