weight lifting & zumba

Body: 

I started lifting again and wanted to mention it here.
It is going well.
I am taking it pretty slow- I am 4 months postpartum. But so far no problems for my prolapse. I breathe well and use free weights- I encourage anyone who has been considering lifting to go for it.

and if anyone has wondered about zumba and prolapse- it isn't a problem for me- (but I also don't do the jumping).

Hi Alemama,

I have been spending too much time these last few years in science libraries and only last week learned of Shakira from an article in the Huffington Post. She is the epitome of natural female dance and posture, and when I saw her I yelled OMG - there is our WW goddess!

Actually, over the years we have done a bit of hip shaking here in the studio and - believe it or not - my rendition of “belly dance” was very much like Shakira’s (if old and funky). The way she lifts her chest and butt is completely supportive of (and supported by) a healthy, horizontal SIJ, and it has dawned on me that we need more of this natural movement to keep mobility there.

All the ortho/PT science in the world can try to explain human spinal stability, but it is best illustrated in a natural female dancer.

Hope you are enjoying Zumba - which I have looked at on YouTube. It appears to be a little more “male” in its movements??

Here’s to shakin’ it.

Christine

P.S. The direction Shakira is taking looks pretty pitiful - bleached blond in a cage? ugh.

I have had a latina instructor and african instructor -both women- both with a nice lumbar curve. There is no instruction to tuck your butt - but then there was no instruction at all- just monkey see monkey do-
it is a ton of hip circles and shimmies and figure eights-
It is fast and loud and a pretty good work out.