WW posture and body fat

Body: 

Louise found this wonderful pic and this one of an African woman in perfect WW posture. Thanks, Louise!

What it brought to mind for me, beyond the absurdity of the “neutral pelvis”, is the question of body fat, which I’ve been wrestling with for a few years.

I’ve gained what I believe to be entirely too much weight over the past ten years. I think it’s settling out a bit now that I’m on the other side of menopause, but I’m still pretty chunky.

From all the research I’ve done on hormones, I believe it’s good to keep lean and fit so the body doesn’t have all those fat cells in which to convert androgens to estrogens - and on to toxic estrogen metabolites.

However, I learned something else about extra body fat after taking the worst fall of my life last week. I had a person on hold on the telephone and needed a document from our building next door. So of course I was running at full speed. We live in a little ramshackle 150 year-old New Mexican plaza. The bricks on the ground are high and low and the toe of my sandal caught one of the raised ones. I was airborne like you see on TV football and came down full force on my left side - shoulder, hip, and knee in that order. I was quite certain my shoulder was broken and eventually developed a saucer-size bruise on my hip.

Lo and behold, 24 hours later I was starting to heal and a couple of days after that my arm and shoulder were fine. I attribute that to the extra fat I am carrying.

At any rate, it is good to see body fat on an African tribal woman! So much of Africa is in terrible shape - perhaps this isn’t a recent photo, I have no idea. She looks great and it is classically human to puff the diaphragm out directly under the breasts. Her pelvic organs are well-supported and the increased loads she carries - baby, firewood, etc., only intensify that support.

Christine

Thanks, Louise and Christine! Great pics.