constipation & rectocele

Body: 

Hi everyone,

I have a rectocele of some degree. It doesn't hang out my vagina but the bulge is always there, grr! My question was about constipation and bowel movements.

Does anyone else feel like there bulge is slightly bigger immediately after a bowel
movement?

I'm desperately trying not to push AT ALL thus finding going to the loo very stressful and in turn have probably made myself even more constipated : ( I also have to splint to get anything out ( find this a real mental challenge ) What is a safe amount of pushing? I'm terrified I'll make it worse by going for a number 2.

Also what foods seem to help keep things moving? I'm breastfeeding so only interested in natural aids as opposed to pills/laxatives. Have just brought prunes, prune juice, fruit aand fibre, probiotic yoghurts and have 15ml of lactulose a day.

Am getting pretty desperate now. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Your concern has been one of mine, jellybelly83. When I was new to the forum, I read several people's suggestion to eat 6 prunes per day. Since I take pain meds that are constipating, I decided to eat 6-12/day depending on rest of diet. For this reason, I also take 3 stool soferners/day = 2 before bed and 1 in the early morning.
In addition and most importanly, I started taking probiotics (25,000 unit capsules 1/am and 1/pm.) These are meant to restore your digestive tract to its natural fauna. After two years of trying to get regular pooping everyday, I have finally found this answer. Within one week of taking the probiotics, I am pooping once or twice a day (rather than the past two years of pure torture).