Better longer sleep

Body: 

Dear lovely ladies,
Have had trouble sleeping through for a long time and it is getting to me at this time of life (starting to be perimenopausal)with busy family, study and future work. There are times when I just need to get up and was wondering what everyone does to go back to sleep before the need to get up or toss & turn, with the added snoring by DH...
Apart from checking out WWforum in the wee hours does anyone do Christine's Yoga ? Any suggestions gratefully received.
Blessings to you all
Aussie Soul Sis zzzzzzzzzz!!

I'm a night shift nurse with two small children. What is this sleep you speak of? (ha ha!). Cultivation of sleep can be an art form as I am learning! I personally love ear plugs ... the foam kind you squish up and then re-expand themselves in your ear canal. They work wonders for me, and can be had cheaply at most hardware stores. I have never tried medications, but many of my nocturnal co-workers swear by Benedryl (diphenhydramine) or the more natural remedy, melatonin. I don't go so far as completing one of the WW yoga DVDs, but do find gentle stretching to help me relax. I am a list maker, and writing down things to do helps me feel less stressed. A game of solitaire or a few minutes of reading do help me get back to sleep when needed. Otherwise, grab sleep where you can -- nap whenever possible and it may help make up for your lack of traditional nighttime zzzzz's. Best wishes . . . insomnia sucks!!

I’ve been trying to think of all the reasons I suffered insomnia for about 11 years. I didn’t take sleeping tablets. Both my mother and mother-in-law did. I was a bit worried about what it was doing to their minds. Trouble was, I did become exhausted after that time with family, commuting and full time, high stress work. So copping long term insomnia isn’t a solution either, but it is amazing in retrospect how long you can go.