Are there any successful surgery stories out there for prolapsed bladder?

Body: 

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the Whole Woman Village. Was diagnosed with prolapsed bladder last month. I am a very fit and active 54 year old woman. I had a natural childbirth at the age of 22, and my daughter weighed 9 lbs, 5 oz..... do not remember any bulging after delivery, but that was 32 years ago.

Two weeks after my recent diagnosis, I experienced an extremely painful bout of lower back pain. My Dr. said it was a pinched nerve and put me on prednisone (steroid) and heavy duty painkiller. Luckily, a week later, my back pain and swelling are gone. Of course, my Dr. didn't think there was any connection to the prolapsed bladder - scary to think how these medical professionals refuse to think outside the box.

Anyway, I've been reading the forum and can relate to the "newbies" anxiety. I am constantly wondering if I'll ever be the active woman that I once was. Will I ever be able to hike in the Shenandoah with my family again? If I maintain the posture, but push any activity too hard, will I have a relapse? I feel too young to have to be so "careful" about myself.

I've read all the literature about the failure rate of prolapsed bladder surgery - I believe it is 40 to 60 percent? Can't help wondering if there are 40 percent sucess rates out there, and what their life looks like post surgery.

Anyone out there like to comment?

Hi Penny and welcome. A cystocele is very manageable with the adoption and practice of Whole Woman posture. You may find some post-surgery comments on this forum if you search, but the few that I can think of are intended to warn you off of this strategy. That’s what we’re here for, what Christine has learned and passed on.