KEGELS... REALLY???

Body: 

Hello, I'm writing from Spain. I'm 41.
Nearly three years ago I had my third child.
My pelvic floor has been troubling me from my second child's birth on.
At the moment, these are the symptoms I am experiencing (which seem to be getting worse as time goes on):
- Vaginal Air, especially when I'm ovulating and PMS and on my period, and particularly after I've been sitting for a while
- Escaping gas (bowel air) as in "I can't stop myself from farting", especially if I'm standing
- Pelvic floor pain, especially when I'm ovulating and on my period

These problems, as I said, seem to be getting worse and are painfully embarrassing. I'm a teacher and when I'm in front of my students, I'm scared I'm going to escape gas through my bowel or air through my vagina and they're going to hear it. It's a terrible situation!

My doctor advised me to do kegel exercises and I've been doing them (on and off) twice a day.
I bought a pfx. I also downloaded an app on my mobile which is called kegel aerobics.
I've got the lady system cones and pelvimax (Chinese balls).

Now, I read Christine's newsletter today and she says that kegels can actually make your condition worse.
And I panicked!!!
So maybe I'm doing it to myself???
Should I stop doing Kegels altogether?
Should I stop using the pfx?
What about the cones and the pelvimac?

What should I do to get rid of my symptoms? What can I do to improve my condition?

Please help. No support is available in Spain although I'm sure I'm not the only one secretly suffering from this condition.

I can only share from my experience with Kegels,