3rd annual: Are shoes the cause of pelvic prolapse and dysfunction?

Body: 

Hi everyone,

I am a 35-year-old electrical engineer investigating the biomechanical effects of shoes on degenerative diseases and other health problems. During the last century, much was written about the importance of posture in health, yet one fact was practically never mentioned: It is impossible to have good posture or a natural gait when wearing shoes.

There are many reasons that shoes influence degenerative conditions such as prolapse. For example, the elevated heel of modern shoes tilts the pelvis such that the organs, both abdominal and pelvic, tend to sag. Even in a flat-heeled pair, compression of the toes forces the feet into a "fallen arch" posture, which produces a waddling or shuffling gait that likewise affects the position of the pelvis. Stiff soles reduce range of motion of the feet, which must reduce range of motion at every other joint throughout the body, leaving it susceptible to any additional stressful demand--no matter how minor it may seem; a pregnancy is just one type of stressful demand that could cause symptoms for a habitual shoe-wearer.

Chiropodist Dr. Simon J. Wikler pioneered efforts to understand the influences of shoes in the 1950's, but his work was neglected during the subsequent drug- and diet-based approaches to medicine. However, the prolific footwear historian and podiatrist Dr. William A. Rossi clearly demonstrated throughout his publications that shoes influence the posture of the human body. Therefore, using the posture-based approaches to medicine of the distinguished orthopedist Dr. Joel E. Goldthwait, I have expanded Dr. Wikler's insightful work to include a variety of illnesses and conditions whose causes remain unknown. You may find my thesis regarding shoes and disease on the Internet at:

http://www.shoebusters.com

Thank you very much for considering my novel approach.

James Semmel
Albuquerque, New Mexico