Frankenvagina

Body: 

Sorry for the title, that is the thought that came to mind today when doing a check, and it made me laugh. Sometimes you just can't do anything but laugh LOL...

I'm wondering if poor stitching might be to blame for some of my issues. I had a third degree tear with episiotomy the first baby and a second degree natural tear the second time. I remember the midwife saying something about a skin tag that tore off slightly and how she was going to put everything back to normal, but I didn't recall ever having a skin tag!

So now 6 months PP I am still learning what is what down there, and I took a look at my tear. I see part of the muscley part of the lower vaginal wall has not healed together, the two sides have healed but are apart and are just sitting there like nubs. I also noticed it looked a little lopsided, one side for whatever reason has healed not attached as low as it would normally be. It is fairly obvious when you look at the pigmentation of the skin, things just do NOT line up. This would fit with my feeling that things are just really loose during intercourse (yes I know I had two babies...).

I don't know who messed it up, the OB the first time or the midwife the second time.. but things are not right. I think I'm going to get a second opinion and possibly see about having things reconstructed.

Am I wrong to think this could be worsening the prolapse??

I love the title, I'll probably hear this word in my head all day tomorrow! I can't answer your question, but I will say that reading through this post makes me determined to keep up with my current practice of not looking at my vagina!! You are a riot. - Surviving

Dear Wheayting