Vault Prolapse

Body: 

I’ve never done a post before, but I see there is a wealth of people with information here, so hoping someone might have some ideas for me.

I am 75 years old, had four vaginal births, then a hysterectomy in my 30’s--that was about 40 years ago. I know--if I had known then what I know now, I would not have allowed the hysterectomy, but at that time they did it at the drop of a hat, and we didn’t know any better. I guess I have been lucky not to have major problems before, but I now have a stage 3 post-hysterectomy vault prolapse. My GP and Gyn diagnosed a cystocele about 4 years ago. It turned out that my symptoms were not from the “cystocele” but from bladder stones, which an excellent urogolist diagnosed and corrected. But from that time on, the prolapse got worse. From the Gyn I got two ring pessaries, neither of which worked at all. I did not want to go back to him, but I finally found a woman doctor--a Gyn but with additional training in pelvic restructuring. She said I did not have a cystocele at all, but instead the post-hysterectomy vault prolapse. I am scheduled for surgery, but first wanted to try a pessary, if she could fit me with one that would work. She said the ring pessary is not typically the best one for a patient without a uterus and she fitted me with a cube pessary. It does work, at least it keeps everything inside instead of outside, but it is next to impossible to insert and remove. From what I read, you really have to remove it daily as there is risk of erosion. This just isn’t going to work for me. I don’t know if there are any other options in pessaries.